Aquarium Mission

Our mission is to inspire conservation of the natural world by exhibiting and caring for animals, by excelling in education and research, and by providing an exceptional visitor experience. The South Carolina Aquarium is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization. We receive the majority of our funding through the generosity of our donors, members, foundations, and business partners.


Kevin Mills
President/Chief Executive Officer

Jack Higgins
Executive Vice President and
Chief Operating Officer

Rachel Kalisperis
Director of Husbandry

Kevin Kampwerth
Director of Marketing and Creative

Mike Mistler
Director of Finance

Brian Thill
Director of Education

Courtenay Speir
Director of Advancement

Brian Brasher
Director of Capital Projects and Facilities

Paul Nunez
Director of Human Resources

Jonathan ZuckerChair 
President, The InterTech Group, Inc.

John DanahyCo-vice Chair 
Former President and COO
of The May Company

Dixon WoodwardCo-vice Chair 
Coastal Market President, TD Bank

J. Donald Higgins, Treasurer 
Director Emeritus
Retired Banker, Harris Bank and
Bank of Montreal

Steve Gray , Vice-Treasurer 
Chief Financial Officer,
West Point Home

Catherine Smith, Secretary 
Trustee, Samuel Freeman Charitable Trust

Jim Twining , Vice- Secretary 
Former CEO of Southern Tide, LLC.

Larry Colshan
Director of Site Services,
Boeing South Carolina

Jane Eudy
Principal, JRE Holdings, LLC

Bryson Geer 
Partner, Nelson Mullins Riley &
Scarborough LLP

Frederick “Fritz” Gitter, MD 
Managing Partner
Charleston Emergency Services

Randall Goldman 
Managing Partner, Patrick Properties

Erika V. Harrison
Founder, Law Office of Erika V. Harrison

Bruce Hecker
Retired Director of Husbandry &
Facilities, South Carolina Aquarium

Mason Holland
Executive Chairman of the Board,, Inc.

Reba Huge 
Founder, The Harry and Reba
Huge Foundation

H.D. Larabee 
Retired Executive, PepsiCo

Brenda Lauderback

Brian Marley
Retired, Belk Inc.

Gary McLaurin
Chief Executive Officer
Allegiance Industries

Jay Millen
Executive Vice President
Managing Director, The Carolinas
DHR International

John “Jack” M. Mitchell 
Regional Director, External and
Legislative Affairs, AT&T

John Neely

Thompson Penney
President and Chief Executive Officer,

David Rivers
Assistant Professor/Director of Public
Information and Community Outreach,
Medical University of South Carolina

Mike Rousseau 
President and Plant Manager
of Alcoa Mt. Holly

Alexandra Samra
Former Chairwoman,
Bronxville Centennial Committee

H. Del Schutte 
Orthopedic Surgeon,
Medical University of South Carolina

Bryan J. Sherbacow
President, Altair Fuels

Stephanie Smith-Phillips, M.D.
Mount Pleasant Dermatology

Scott Snider
National Geographic

Pete Sniderman
Chief Operating Officer
Litton Entertainment

Emily Swanson
Community Volunteer

John Swink 

C. Ray Wrenn
Founder, The Wrenn Group, LLC

Pat Conroy

James FergusonChairman Emeritus
Charleston, South Carolina

William A. Finn
Chairman, President and CEO,
AstenJohnson, Inc.

J. Donald Higgins, Treasurer 
Retired Banker, Harris Bank and
Bank of Montreal

Sheila Hodges
South Carolina Aquarium Volunteer

Peatsy Hollings*
Charleston, South Carolina

Kate Jerome

Robert R. Macdonald
Director Emeritus,
Museum of the City of New York

Layton McCurdy, M.D.
Distinguished University Professor and Dean,
Medical University of South Carolina

The Honorable Robert E. McNair*
Former Governor of South Carolina
Chairman of the Board, McNair Law Firm, P.A.

Mary Alice Monroe

The Honorable Richard W. Riley
Former Secretary of Education,
United States of America Former Governor,
State of South Carolina

Victor Samra, Jr.*Member Emeritus 
Retired Managing Director, Lehman Brothers

Ken SeegerChairman Emeritus
President, MWV Community Development
and Land Management Group

Hilton C. Smith, Jr.Chairman Emeritus
President & CEO, East Bay Company Ltd.

Theodore S. Stern*
Retired President, College of Charleston

M. William Youngblood, Esq.,
Chairman Emeritus
Partner, McNair Law Firm, P.A.

Jerry Zucker*Chairman Emeritus
Chairman, President and CEO,
The InterTech Group, Inc.

* Deceased